My Digital Story

Just to make live easier…

Migrating to Apple…

Last month (September 2009) I made a move which before this I consider will not happen to me…I am now officially Apple users owning MacBook Pro 13.3″ and also iphone 3GS 16GB.

iPhone 3GS 16GB

You might find is my older blog posts, how I really hate early iPhone both for its physical design and also features. However, since the introduction of iPhone OS 3.0 and the inclusion of 3G connection, I almost have no excuse not to use iPhone.

And, so far I am very satisfied with it BUT only after I jailbreak it using Blackra1n.

I really disappointed really since iPhone is sold exclusively using the worst Telco provider in Malaysia, Maxis. Maxis is only nice on TV and print advertisement but the service is terribly lousy. Their broadband is very bad in term of Quality of Service (QoS) and coverage. I really have very few in my Address Book with Maxis numbers. Almost all are Celcom users. While Celcom service is not the best but at least reasonably acceptable.

On the iPhone, to the worst, Maxis keep on telling me that they do not have stock both for contract and contract-free Hotlink. I have to wait maybe 2 months to get one. The demand of iphone really beat the supply to the extend that when I went to buy the accessories for my new iPhone in Low Yatt, they are so surprise how I can get one!

I managed to get the iPhone from Mudah.my seller which happen to be located just next to my office building. The seller is really a nice guy and truly a businessmen not a con what so ever. I really will buy from him again. Nevertheless, the price I paid is definitely more expensive compared to Maxis.

My advice to buyers out there! Make sure you get the officially unlocked iPhone! There might be a chance that we might not be able to unlock iPhone in the future although I really hope the DevTeam community will be able to unlock the new baseband (05.11.07). I bought officially unlocked iPhone from the above guy for very simply reason; I need to use local SIM card whenever I am oversea. Plus I do not have to worry about the unlock will be disable when I unintentionally or intentionally update the firmware through iTunes.

The iPhone that I bought although officially unlocked however it come preloaded with OS 3.1 which at that time (in the middle of September) is not yet jailbreakable. But now with Blackra1n I am very happly with iPhone features. More on that in later posts.

MacBook Pro 13.3″

In my house, my brother studying in Lim Kok Wing University & College has been using iMac for almost a year. For all the while, it haven’t cross my mind to move to Mac OS since from my occasional use of my brother’s iMac I feel it is slight difficult to do my things in Mac.

It all happens when I need to buy a new laptop since for mobile/travel purpose I am using Asus netbook EEE PC 1000HD which initially I find adequate for checking email and browsing internet while on the go. Usually i am only outstation for less than 2 weeks so netbook is just perfect for that purpose and duration.

However, starting October I will be away for company assignment for 2 months so definitely netbook would not be adequate for my work related things later. Also, my brother also requested a new laptop since my aging Twinhead 12″ Intel Centrino is no longer able to meet this college works. I plan to give him my wife full fledge Acer laptop to him and my wife can take my Asus netbook. So, now I have excuse to buy a new laptop🙂

So, the scouting begin. I start to look for Mac since now Mac can run both Mac OS and also Windows XP using Boot Camp. I already own Original Windows XP Professional license. The following consideration is why I at last decide to go for MacBook Pro 13.3″:

  1. All new Apple Mac series now is based on Intel processor and also come with Boot Camp which means I can run Windows XP natively on Mac computer.
  2. There is also virtualization software (Parallels, VMware Fusion and also VirtualBox (freeware)) to run Windows XP inside Mac OS environment.
  3. Also reimplementation of Win32 API like Wine and CrossOver also make is possible to run Windows application in Mac close to native speed.
  4. MacBook Pro has SD-card reader.
  5. The new Mac OS 10.6 Snow Leopard also really impress me. All the features and new technology introduced in it for example Grand Central Dispatch really make use the multicore processor capability and also now support 64-bit implementation. The 64-bit implementation now allow the use of memory above 4 GB. My MacBook Pro is using 4GB DDR3. The OpenCL implementation also means the GPU is now can be really optimised for relevant application.
  6. Most of my application now also available natively for Mac OS e.g. Microsoft Office 2008 for Mac. There are also abundant of free or open source software which I normally use in Windows e.g. SSH GUI client, prayer time, etc.
  7. I also can figure out how to resolve little problem to use Juniper Network Connect to access to my company VPN in Mac. Last time when I tried to use Network Connect at my brother iMac, it just can not run. Later in my next post I will share the solution.
  8. The physical design of MacBook Pro is just amazing. Unibody design which make it so light although not as light as my Asus netbook, the Magsafe connector and even the charger design is very distinguished from others.
  9. The battery meter display is a very feature. You can check the battery capacity before you travel.
  10. I am now iPhone user, so it make more sense to use Mac OS.

Still, there are something which I think MacBook Pro lack:

  1. No VGA port- Well, Apple is as stubborn as usual by having only DisplayPort. So I have to buy the converter.
  2. No eSATA although FireWire 800 is provided.

In overall, so far I am very happy with the performance of Apple products, iPhone and MacBook Pro. The OS are really smooth and functional.

25/10/2009 - Posted by | Apple, iPhone, Mac |

2 Comments »

  1. thank u.

    Comment by azam | 26/10/2009


Leave a Reply

