My Digital Story

Just to make live easier…

#2002 – The server is not responding (or the local MySQL server’s socket is not correctly configured)

I encountered this error message when I am trying to run phpmyadmin after relentless and countless install/reinstall of php and mysql in my DNS-323 NAS. Even a test page containing standard mysql command also did not appear at all in the browser.

At last from my reading HERE (which troubleshoot all kind of error leading the above error message), I managed to discover what went wrong.

The installation of mysql in my NAS involve this my.conf file kept in /ffp/etc. In the file, the default installation give the following:

At line 829

mysql.default_socket = /ffp/var/mysql.sock

It definitely miss a subfolder after the /var which is run. So I just edit the line to become:

mysql.default_socket = /ffp/var/run/mysql.sock

After that my phpmyadmin run perfectly.

16/05/2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

