My Digital Story

Just to make live easier…

No Internet Access to due to fixed preferred and alternate DNS settings

Another great lesson learnt tonight! Alhamdulillah!

I just received a newly reformatted (using hard disk image ghost) office Notebook (HP NC6400). I have been struggling why I can not connect to the Internet from both wired and wireless connections from my ADSL router.

Initially I thought it must be due to the firewall setting by the default anti-virus that my company used, Trend Micro OfficeScan which is preinstalled from the hard disk image ghost.

It took me almost a day until tonight that I discovered the culprit!

The internet connection is lost from either the wired or wireless because the Internet Protocal (TCP/IP) IP address settings for both connections were set with fixed preferred and alternate DNS (which essentially the DNS setting for our company LAN and installed also the hard disk image ghost).

So, the solution is I just need to change to “Obtain DNS server address automatically” and yahoo!!! I got my internet connection back. The great thing is by wired; I am getting 1Gbps since this HP NC6400 has Gigabit access and connected to my WAG350N router which also equipped with Gigabit Ethernet port.

So, another successful troubleshooting tonight. Allah is Great!

blog2

13/12/2008 - Posted by | Networking, Windows XP troubleshootings | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

