My Digital Story

Just to make live easier…

Windows XP hotfix to read SDHC

My Kohjinsha UMPC was preloaded with Windows Vista which is absurd since the machine only has processor of 600Mhz. It is damn slow!

So, I decided to downgrade my Kohjinsha SH series to Windows XP instead. Luckily, Kohjinsha do provide all the necessary drivers for Windows XP which can be accessed here.

After smooth installation of Windows XP, I realized that my built-in SD card reader can not read SDHC which I own (4GB) to use with my HTC TyTN II.  It is surprising since, in Vista, the card reader can read/write to the same SDHC card.

After some Googling, I found out that, Windows XP requires hotfix to enable built-in SD card reader to read/write SDHC (minimum capacity of SDHC is 4GB).

So, here is the hotfix for you to download. You might want to download straight from Microsoft website. But, it is a little bit annoying since it will require you to go through Windows genuine test and so on.

15/05/2008 - Posted by | Windows XP troubleshootings | ,

13 Comments »

  1. I downloaded the hotfix from your post on my ibm tablet and it worked fine. Read my 8gbSDHC card with no problems. I then downloaded the fix to my VAIO laptop running XP pro and it did not work. It goes through the install process and looks like it’s working but after I reboot the reader still will not read SDHC cards. Is there maybe a different fix for XP pro?
    THX

    Comment by jeff | 04/07/2008

  2. ok

    Comment by jw van der craats | 05/07/2008

  3. thanks for the driver

    Comment by jw van der craats | 05/07/2008

  4. this is fixed in sp3!

    Comment by cody | 18/07/2008

  5. Thank you for the quick fix. Another forum advised me to get a new card reader. Thanks to you I was able to quickly upgrade my exsisting sd card reader in my Dell laptop. Thank you.

    Comment by Ed | 03/01/2009

  6. Downloaded but it said Service Pack three negated the need for this hotfix, however I still cannot use the SD reader for anything larger than 2 gig when before I could.

    Note: I recently upgraded the HDD and reloaded WinXP and when that happened I could no longer use the SD reader.

    Comment by Jason | 13/08/2009

  7. hey there i got the same problem on my 8gb class6 sdhc card:/ eventhought i m unable to find a reader with sdhc logo:/ could u refresh the link ? :]

    Comment by ali | 18/11/2009

  8. Doesn’t Work For Windows Xp Home Edition On SP3!!!

    Though My PC Still Doesn’t Read SDHC…

    -_- Can Anyone Help??

    Comment by Anonymous | 03/12/2009

  9. Virtual Memory sure is becoming cheaper and cheaper and cheaper. I wonder when we will finally reach the rate of 1 cent to 1 GB.I’m eagerly anticipating the day when I will finally be able to afford a 20 terabyte harddisk, haha. But for now I will be content with having a 16 gig Micro SD in my R4i.(Submitted by Post4i for R4i Nintendo DS.)

    Comment by bandsxbands | 03/03/2010

  10. Thanks,
    I have a dual boot system with ubuntu 8.10 and the Toshiba version of WinXP included with that model.

    Toshiba includes lots of unneeded software like AOL, but there are no upgrades to upgrade the driver for SDHC nor DVD firmware upgrade for the Matshita DVD/CD ROM UJ-845S, and other important drivers.

    In Ubuntu I have tested to read and write SDHC up to 32GB, and works very well. I do not have a 64GB to try.

    The link to the patch in Microsoft is:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/934428/
    In case that you want to download from that site.
    You must download the following files (md5sum included):

    6c58c5c0101256d701c6b76b4d227c6a *WGAPluginInstall.exe
    cc6f3c65fc76d80ebd11f45de66c77a7 *WindowsXP-KB943198-v2-x86-ENU.exe

    It seems that the first file is a plugin to verify your license the other a hotfix installer.

    I forgot that Windows must restart the computer, that does not happen with unices. So I should finish my message before testing the patch. In case it does not work I’ll write other message. Wish me luck!

    Comment by forcet to use winxp | 26/04/2010

  11. As I mentioned in a previous message, here is my report:
    It did not work in a i945GM Express / Intel Core 2 duo processor, notebook.
    I also tried:
    9a78fff0c7e32d3596d13f9288897d77 WindowsXP-KB923293-v4-x86-ENU.exe
    But I still can’t read a 8GB SDHC memory.
    It seems that microsoft does not support the driver.
    I could not find the appropriate driver from ti.com since the controller chip is a Texas Instruments PCIxx12 controller.

    Since it is possible to connect the camera via usb as an external storage, I will try this way to see my videos, with the software provided by the camcorder manufacturer that only runs in windows😦

    Other possible solution is to buy a SD->USB adapter.

    It must be possible to read the card in this system under winxp, but it seems to be too complicated.
    The two alternate solutions seems to be more pragmatical.

    Comment by forced to use winxp | 26/04/2010

  12. many thanks … it worked .. I have a Dell inspiron laptop .. with a built-in card reader … and SDHC Nikon from my photo camera ..

    Comment by valivarona | 06/06/2010

  13. Check who makes your card reader in Control Panel and then search for the fix needed. Not all fixes work for all reader makes.

    Comment by S | 08/09/2011


Leave a Reply

